Georgia Drug Possession Laws

The stigma attached to a drug possession charge is often the most stressful thing about such a life event. Unfortunately, this is now the least of your worries. You’ve got a serious legal problem to deal with.

Drug possession charges can potentially result in years behind bars and a lifetime of carrying the “convicted felon” label. This can affect your job, education, housing, relationships and even your marriage.

Charged with Drug Possession? Please call (404) 213-0144.

Georgia Law Classifies Drug Possession Penalties by “Schedules” as listed below:

  • Schedule I – These drugs are considered the most highly addictive with no legitimate medical use. They include heroin, LSD, ecstasy, and GHB.
  • Schedule II – Also highly addictive, Schedule II drugs include methamphetamine, cocaine, crack cocaine, morphine, opium, and methadone.
  • Schedule III – Drugs in this category include steroids like testosterone and ketamine.
  • Schedule IV, V, and VI – These are substances that are sometimes prescribed by physicians for a variety of issues. When taken outside of the orders of a doctor, they are considered illegal.


Legal Defense Options

Conditional Discharge

If this is your 1st drug offense we may ask the judge to agree upon a conditional discharge. This term is used to describe a program where you abide by certain terms and conditions (like probation). Once you have satisfied these conditions, the charges against you are dropped.

Suspension of Driving Privileges

All drug possession charges result in the mandatory suspension of your driver’s license. If this is your 1st offense, the license will be suspended for a minimum of 6 months. (That’s without our representation) A second offense results in a 1 year suspension, and a third or subsequent offense results in a minimum 2 year suspension.

How an Attorney Can Help

A criminal defense lawyer’s primary job is to ensure your constitutional rights are protected throughout the Criminal Justice process and to work towards the most positive results possible in your case.

From questioning how the evidence was obtained in a police search to invalidating witness testimony, your defense lawyer is your advocate in the court system.

All available options to fight the case and avoid a criminal conviction, and the driver’s license loss should be evaluated by an experienced defense attorney.

You only have one chance to challenge the States’ evidence against you. If you plead guilty, it’s over.

While working out a plea deal often makes sense, it should be done with the knowledge that all legal defense alternatives have been evaluated and explored.

Contact us for a free legal case evaluation with a defense attorney in Georgia.

Free Consultation and Price Quote Live on the Phone

Let's meet on Saturday or Sunday or after work.
Convenient times for your hectic schedules.
Webcam meetings also available for your convenience.

Call (404) 213-0144 or Email Us